Skip to main content.

University of Kansas Medical Center Leadership Team

Leadership at KU Medical Center is guided by a vision to lead the nation in health care education, healing, teaching and discovery.

Matthias Salathe, M.D.
Interim Executive Vice Chancellor and Vice Chancellor for Research
KU Medical Center
msalathe@kumc.edu

University of Kansas Medical Center
2032 Murphy Administration Building
Mail Stop 2015
3901 Rainbow Boulevard
Kansas City, KS 66160

Organizational Chart

Learn about the leadership structure of the University of Kansas Medical Center.

View the organizational chart (PDF)

Members of the Leadership Team

Sunil Abhyankar, M.D.
Director, Midwest Stem Cell Therapy Center
sabhyankar@kumc.edu 

Abiodun Akinwuntan, Ph.D., MPH, MBA, MIH
Dean, KU School of Health Professions
aakinwuntan@kumc.edu

Debra Brogden
Executive Officer, Office of the Executive Vice Chancellor
dbrogden@kumc.edu

Emily Diederich, M.D.
Director, Zamierowski Institute for Experiential Learning
Assistant Vice Chancellor for Simulation
ediederich@kumc.edu

Kimberly Gibbens, J.D.
Deputy General Counsel
kgibbens@kumc.edu

Jean Foret Giddens, Ph.D., RN, FAAN, ANEF
Dean, KU School of Nursing
jgiddens@kumc.edu

Kimberly Grunewald, J.D.
Interim General Counsel and Vice Chancellor for Legal Affairs
kgrunewald@ku.edu

Chris Harper
Chief Information Officer
charper@kumc.edu 

Robert Klein, Ph.D.
Vice Chancellor for Academic & Student Affairs
rklein@kumc.edu

Nell Lucas
Vice President for Medical Development, KU Endowment
nlucas@kuendowment.org

Natalie Lutz
Director & Chief Communications Officer
nlutz3@kumc.edu

Robert McCormack, MPA
Director, Government Relations
rmccormack@kumc.edu

Jerrihlyn L. McGee, DNP, RN
Vice Chancellor for Diversity, Equity & Inclusion
jmcgee@kumc.edu

Garold Minns, M.D.
Dean, School of Medicine-Wichita
gminns@kumc.edu

Tyler Hughes, M.D.
Dean, KU School of Medicine-Salina
thughes55@kumc.edu

Akinlolu Ojo, M.D., Ph.D., MBA
Executive Dean, School of Medicine
aojo@kumc.edu

Ryan Spaulding, Ph.D.
Vice Chancellor for Community Engagement
rspaulding@kumc.edu

Steven Stites, M.D.
Vice Chancellor for Clinical Affairs
sstites@kumc.edu

David Vranicar, MBA
Vice Chancellor for Finance/Chief Financial Officer
dvranicar@kumc.edu

Scott Weir, PharmD, Ph.D.
Director, Institute for Advancing Medical Innovation
sweir@kumc.edu

Chari Young, J.D.
Chief Human Resources Officer
cyoung8@kumc.edu

Last modified: 04-22-2024